Thanks a Bunch

I have to say, I love today’s card! The color combo for today was two shades of brown, a blue, and purple. Hurray for purple! I did realize there’s not much purple in my paper stash, which is odd considering I really like the color. I am rather particular about my purples, though. That’s probably why I have so little. I do have some great purple inks and, “when in doubt, stamp flowers.” The flowers are from the new Wplus9 “Fresh cut Florals” set. The sentiment and vase are from Penny Black’s “A Bunch.” The vase is actually a jar that I stamped on brown then cut out. It makes a great earthenware vessel for flowers, I think.

The circle in the background is a small doily with the outside lacy part cut away. So that I could add dimension, I mounted the doily on a piece of dark purple card stock that is barely visible. It does add a little color and great support for the doily.

The twine was fun, but I had some trouble threading it through the holes in the card-front. Rather than fight the unraveling, I threaded it through a needle. It was much easier to thread the twine through the needle once than to try to get it through each hole individually.

Between working with my favorite color and having a new stamp/die set to play with (the WPlus9), this was a fun project. Stamping all those flowers is therapeutic. I needed some quiet time the other night, so after I got Lexie in bed, I went on a retreat to the craft room. There was no creativity left in me, so I cut out a few sets of flowers and spent 45 minutes stamping. It was great fun! I emerged a new and (mostly) agreeable person. Much cheaper than therapy and better than whining at my husband. At least, he thinks so.

W3D1

3 thoughts on “Thanks a Bunch

Leave a Reply

