The Sky is the Limit

The Sky is the Limit

This is the card created for the Simon Says Stamp summer card camp, week 1 day 3. Tyler and I worked on this one together. It was his first time to play with the Big Shot. He’s hooked. Good thing he’s only here for a week or we might have to take turns! Tragedy!

The pretty floral background is from Martha Stewart; I bought it pre-cut. It was perfect for this challenge. I just trimmed some Bazzill cardstock in teal to place behind and it really stands out nicely. Following the same idea, I used the Taylored Expressions butterfly, layering blue over orange. That’s not usually a color combo I like, but I might have to reconsider after seeing the results. It’s such fun when a project flows so nicely. All fears of having to share the craft room aside, it was a treat to have Tyler (my 18-year-old stepson) working with me. It helped me see my tools, embellishments, and papers with fresh eyes and get creative with what I have.

Last night when I was falling asleep, I had all these great ideas for blogging. Today . . . nothing. I do know that over the next few days, I will introduce you to Lexie, a spectacular 6-year-old who sits on me while I make most of my cards. She is also a pro with the Big Shot and making finger prints with my inks. We get craft almost every day. She has her own stash of inks and cling stamps. Of course, she prefers mine. Maybe tomorrow I can get her to create a card for you. My guess is it will have a cupcake. Until then . . .

One thought on “The Sky is the Limit

  1. Oh, wow. Thanks so much for the behind-the-scenes peek! Love it–what fun! I absolutely love the background! I did the same thing with my butterfly & played around with which color should go on top of the other. Hope you’re enjoying class as much as I am. Your card looks great! Come & visit my blog anytime.

Leave a Reply

